Innovative writers award offered by sculpture biennale

If you are interested in writing about sculpture, the Scarlett Award, a new prize offered by Lorne Sculpture Biennale 2014, might be the motivation you need. With $5000 up for grabs, the award has been established to encourage analytical writing on contemporary sculpture. And you don’t have to be a professional art critic to participate. So all you bloggers, arm chair critics and aspiring writers, read on…

Dorota-Lila Buczkowska Swing
Dorota-Lila Buczkowska, Swing. From Lorne Sculpture 2011. Photo: Artin’ Geelong.

The Scarlett Award calls on professional and non-professional critics, artists and writers to contribute reviews about any sculpture exhibition or public art installation they have seen, whether that be a solo, group or a major event within Australia, or even something they may have seen overseas between 1 November 2012 and 28 February 2014.

The best written review, as deemed by the judges, regardless of the quality of the exhibition, sculpture or artist featured, will receive the award.

The Lorne Sculpture Biennale defines contemporary sculpture as a diverse practice, including object based, representational, installation, site specific, ephemeral, time based media, sound, light, kinetic, happenings and performance.

All reviews will be posted to and judged over the 14 months leading to the announcement of the winner at the opening of the Lorne Sculpture Biennale on the 8th March 2014.

Writers may enter as many reviews as they wish over the 14-month period, including their reviews published elsewhere or an extract from a larger writing; there is no fee to enter the award and no fee paid to writers.

The judging panel comprises Jason Smith – Director Heide Museum of Modern Art,  Maudie Palmer AO – Independent Curator, and Ken Scarlett OAM – Independent Curator and writer on Australian sculpture.

The Scarlett Award honours Ken Scarlett, a curator and writer who has promoted Australian sculpture for more than 40 years.

Matthew Harding Centripetal
Matthew Harding, Centripetal. From Lorne Sculpture 2011. Photo: Artin’ Geelong.

Award Guidelines

  • Writers may wish to be anonymous and assume a pseudonym, however they must register correct contact details with Lorne Sculpture to be considered for the award.
  • Each entrant must be the sole writer of the review. Up to three identified jpeg images of the exhibition may be included with the review. It is the reviewer’s responsibility to obtain permission to use images for such purpose.

Entries must include:

  • Exhibition name and dates.
  • Artist/s names.
  • Gallery name, address and email/website details.
  • Minimum 500 – maximum 2,000-word limit.
  • Institutions private and public, artists-run initiatives and commercial galleries may submit commissioned writers for the award, however press releases will not be included.
  • Entries submitted to
  • Reviews will be accepted from 1st November 2012 to the 28th February 2014, 5.00pm.
  • Although both positive and negative reviews are encouraged, Lorne Sculpture reserves the right to not include reviews if they are deemed offensive or unnecessarily vindictive.

Visit for information about the exhibition and its history. Enquiries about this award to Julie Collins – Curator,

Lorne Sculpture Photo Extravaganza
Lorne Sculpture 2011 Winners

Detail from Landings – Landlines – Songlines by Greg Johns who won the $20,000 Sculpture Trail prize in Lorne Sculpture 2011. Photo: Artin’ Geelong.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s