Nellie Maertzdorf Ellis – As Above, So Below

Nellie Maertzdorf Ellis is exhibiting a series of artworks exploring the ancient belief from Hermetic philosophy that the macrocosm reflects the microcosm – that what is above is replicated in what is below. Held at the Dennys Lascelles Gallery, the exhibition comprises eighteen oil paintings and prints (etching and aquatint, collagraph) many of which have been hand coloured with watercolour.

Nellie Maertzdorf Ellis Roof of the Sky
Nellie Maertzdorf Ellis, Roof of the Sky 3. Image courtesy of the artist.

Nellie Maertzdorf  Ellis was born in 1957 at Wangaratta, Victoria. For most of her life she has lived in the Geelong area. Nellie currently teaches in the School of Art at The Gordon TAFE, Geelong, where she has taught for over seven years. Her studio is located at her home in Geelong and she has exhibited her art work at various galleries including the Geelong Gallery. Nellie likes to work in a variety of media, including drawing, sculpture, paint and print, and she tends to work across genres. Her work draws upon many themes including pattern, colour, mythology, philosophy and the human form, to name a few. She is represented in private collections locally and overseas.

Nellie Maertzdorf Ellis Sun
Nellie Maertzdorf, Sun. Image courtesy of the artist.

As Above, So Below runs until 21 October 2011 at Dennys Lascelles Gallery, Deakin University, Geelong Waterfront Campus, 1 Gheringhap St, Geelong. Open Monday to Friday, 10 am to 4 pm. More details are available from the artist on 5248 7640.

3 thoughts on “Nellie Maertzdorf Ellis – As Above, So Below

  1. Allereerst een hartelijke groet vanuit Nederland.Ik zat zo te kijken op de p.c. en zag jou naam staan.Hoe is het daar in Austalie?Hier is het winter en wat guur,anders dan bij jullie.Ook alles nog oke met je ouders? Heel bijzonder om dit te zien.Het zijn mooie kleurschakeringen.Heb je al meer reacties gehad vanuit Nederland?Helaas is ons engels zeer matig dus hoop ik dat je er iets wijs uit kunt worden.Wij wensen je dan ook veel sucses met je schilderijen,met de hartelijke groeten uit Veenendaal. Cor en Cobie Maertzdorf.

  2. hallo betty, nellie en john, hier een berichtje na een lange tijd van jullie oom boudewijn maertzdorf uit nederland. hoe gaat het met jullie?en hoe gaat het met jullie vader en moeder?ik ben daar zeer benieuwd naar doe allen de hartelijke groeten van mij.ik hoop dat alles verder goed met jullie gaat. wil je indien het mogelijk is mij het telefoonnummer van jullie vader joop (mijn broer) per mail sturen dan kan ik hem eens bellen en vertellen hoe mijn leven verlopen is. en meer ik hoop snel van jullie te horen. groetjes van jullie oom boudewijn maertzdorf uit holland mijn telefoo0nnummer is:0318652965. boudewijn maertzdorf, rozenlaan 14. ede gelderland

Leave a Reply

